Actress Ana Capri and Kenneth Moraleda after being awarded Best Actor at Cinemanila 2008

Kenneth Moraleda was awarded The Vic Silayan Best Actor Award at the the 10th 2008 Cinemanila International Film Festival.

President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo handed “The Bulol” for Best Actor in the Main (International) Comepetition for his portrayal of Cambodian refugeee Arun in Lucky Miles at Malacañang Palace’s Kalayaan Hall.

Except from GMANews.TV website:

“In 2001, President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo graced our awarding ceremony in Makati and for the last three years, she has been hosting the awarding ceremony in Malacañang. And that’s a statement—it’s telling everyone that there is support for the young filmmakers. Our objective is really to help young filmmakers and create an environment so they can grow and fulfill their destiny of reviving the stature of the Philippines as the center of Southeast Asian cinema.”

The Cinemanila 2008 Award winners with President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo and Festival Director Amable "Tikoy" Aguiliz VI at Malacanang Palace Kalayaan Hall

Most of the winners were unable to personally receive their awards. Among those who attended were Kenneth Moraleda, winner of Vic Silayan Best Actor award for Lucky Miles and Sherad Anthony Sanchez, recipient of the Lino Brocka Grand Prize for his film Imburnal.


Leave a comment